Oklahoma Beheading: Religious Act Like Any Other Religion?

judith-beheading-holofernesI realize that for some this will be a hot topic. Perhaps too hot for a Christian to address in these end-times. Never-the-less; today I read an article about the violent attacks that Alton Nolen (Oklahoma) is accused of. In my opinion, these acts are abhorrent and insane.

At the end of the article was a response that I found offensive. The author inferred that his acts were not different than what a christian might do. Here I quote the feedback and display the feedback writer’s words in blue, my responses are indented and in black:

A religion that condones killing. How truly evil.

The Old Testament only calls for stoning people to death about 100 times, but I’m sure none of that counts because, you know, Old Testament and all…

Context: Although I see that the above comment is facetious in tone, the Bible’s old testament does contain ‘the law’ from God. And that law was done away with when it was nailed to the cross that Jesus hung from. Colossians 2:13-15 “When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross. And having disarmed the powers and authorities, he made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.”

So, out with the old and in with the new-

“Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death” – Romans 1:32

Scripture Context: God’s word says here that the things ‘they’ do are ‘worthy’ of death. That does not say that Christians shall/should put ‘them’ to death.
Romans 12:19 “Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, ‘Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.'”
Vengeance belongs to Him. As a Christian I am not authorized nor allowed to condemn another. Judgement and condemnation are separate. I must have good judgement and discernment without condemnation. As a flawed human I am always working to be more like He has asked me to become.
See Deut 32:34-38 where God (in first person) says
“Have I not kept this in reserve and sealed it in my vaults?
It is mine to avenge; I will repay.
In due time their foot will slip; their day of disaster is near and their doom rushes upon them.”
The Lord will vindicate his people and relent concerning his servants when he sees their strength is gone and no one is left, slave or free.
He will say: “Now where are their gods, the rock they took refuge in, the gods who ate the fat of their sacrifices and drank the wine of their drink offerings?
Let them rise up to help you! Let them give you shelter!”

“But as for these enemies of mine, who did not want me to reign over them, bring them here and slaughter them before me.” – Luke 19:27

Scripture Context: This is found at the end of a parable (Luke 19:11-26) told by Jesus of a man who is declaring himself king and his conversation with those who were supposed to make something of the monies he left with them while he was away. The out of context quote is the declared king speaking of those who were known to be plotting to kill him. It is a parable intended to illustrate something particular to the audience about THE judgement day. The day when the king will have vengeance. I do not believe it is a command to commit “Christian Jihad” or anything similar.

My conclusion is that today, the act of following Muhammad versus the act of following Christ are two very different things. I do not know a lot about Islam, I am learning, but I see (from many sources) a lot of ‘organized violence’ coming from persons claiming to be followers of Muhammad and little or none from persons claiming to be followers of Christ. I also keep in mind that each would be a “claim” to be verified by deity, not me.

About Kerry Townsend

I do the best I can humanly do to follow Jesus Christ. I am not perfect. But the perfection described by God, is what I seek. I build websites to help others and earn my food & lodging.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

