Why Not Sing During Worship?

Edge-OnGalaxyNGC4013I really enjoy praising God with my meager singing voice. By secular measure, I’m sure that’s the best valuation I can give my voice.

But over the years, something has really struck me hard. Again and again.

Why do so many worshipers not join in the singing? There are times when I look about me and note that about half of those standing with me are not singing. Please understand, I am not condemning anyone of some sing-song-sin just because you’re not singing along, but won’t someone help me understand the mind set?

Why do you not let that God given ability (or lack thereof) issue a few notes of praise? Why withhold it? The Father crafted your voice-box just for you to use. To use for His enjoyment. Just so you can release all that praise that’s become pent-up over the course of the week. Maybe you have nothing pent-up?

Does the sound your voice makes embarrass you? Does it embarrass someone close to you? I will admit that hearing my own voice (as I sing or heard from a recording) delivers something less than spectacular, to me. But I believe most of mankind’s “singing voices” were not crafted for humans to enjoy. Just listen to the large number of rejected auditions for American Idol. And remember that God knows the most intimate details and intentions of your heart. When we worship we are showing our adoration, our love of the Father. I believe that’s what He hears when your voice rings out as loud and clear as you can deliver.

Perhaps you just enjoy the singing of others? I’ll grant that occasionally I have stopped for a moment here and there to listen. But that can only account for a small number of non-singers.

Are you bored by the simplicity of the songs? Bored, because “we just sang that last week” didn’t we? Bored, because it’s not teaching you something complex enough? Bored, because it’s too old fashioned a piece of music. Or maybe it just a little passe? Or maybe it’s just too newfangled!

Maybe you’re upset because it’s all just too much vain repetition?

+++ Added 27-Aug-2014

Please understand, the content of a hymn or song is not proof of God’s desire for us to sing praises. Instead I say let scripture speak to you. Scriptures that encourage and even command the faithful to sing praises to the Father.  In my opinion, scripture is saying that He wants to hear your voice. So that it becomes conversation. Not meditation in your head (Like singing with your heart alone).

  • Psalms 71:8, 14-16, 23-24
  • Psalms 66:2, 81:1, 95:1
  • Ephesians 5:18-19
  • Collosians 3:16

Another aspect of the spiritual voice, singing is a part or your spiritual armor, a weapon and a tool against Satan. Why would you put down your spiritual arms in the face of our greatest foe? You are a devine warrior, sing to the Lord.

God even says that HE will sing over you! Why would you not sing back to Him?

  • Zeph 3:17 – God will sing over you.

see also: http://www.opc.org/nh.html?article_id=647 

+++ end of addition

May I propose another angle, another way of thinking on this? Saturday evening I’ve begun mentally preparing myself to BE with my brothers and sisters in Christ to worship the Creator. To praise Him. To remember the gift of an ugly death in my stead because of His desire to save ME. To sacrifice some of what I’ve been blessed with, so I am reminded of how dependent I am upon Him for everything. To hear a sermon crafted for the presenter by God. Mind you, both presenter and many others (me included) pray He is the source of the words spoken in each sermon. To praise Him some more. Because He is worthy.

So my suggestion is to focus on worshiping God with the instrument He crafted for you to use in His honor. If your heart is praising Him. If you’re focused on Him first and not yourself or the little one near by that’s fidgeting… to your distraction. Maybe you will be able to (in spite of the distractions and boredom) give praise to The King of Kings. The One who is Worthy of your efforts.

About Kerry Townsend

I do the best I can humanly do to follow Jesus Christ. I am not perfect. But the perfection described by God, is what I seek. I build websites to help others and earn my food & lodging.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Not Sing During Worship?

  1. Diane Davis says:

    I’m with you, bro. God wants us to raise our voices joyfully in praise of Him. The key word is “joyfully”. I suspect He loves every voice that sings His praises, regardless of their tunefulness (or lack thereof). Concentrate on the goal–to praise God–and don’t worry about what anyone else thinks. I like to think I would feel the same way if I couldn’t carry a tune. Glad to hear you do. Great post:)

    • sonfisher says:

      Thanks. I appreciate the feedback.

      FYI – I am now aware of some additional, reasonable explanations: if I’m singing “my brain shuts down” and someone that “sensory overloads to music”

      It also comes to mind that perhaps some of the people reading this attend services that use instruments (not accapella) that may drive many/some of the singers to distraction or overloading?

  2. I understand your sentiment, but everyone has to worship God in his/her own way. Perhaps music isn’t the way peoples hearts want to reach out to God, or perhaps God has given each individual their own special talent, which could and should be used to do his work.

Leave a Reply

