Where I Stand

I love my loving father, God in heaven, the creator. I love Him first. I am not loved by Him more or less than anyone else on the planet.  I am humbled that He invites us to seek out His will and please Him. I read a detailed description of His will in the Holy Bible. I humbly exert my best efforts to understand and apply His will in my life. He is, after all, infinitely smarter than I am… Infinitely more loving that I am…

Who am I to challenge Him or to be so arrogant that I would think I know better that He about ANYTHING? Anything at all? I am extremely grateful that he is so patient with my flaws and mistakes. He freely forgives, if I will choose His will over mine or that of a very real Satan.

I feel saddened by the anger and affront anyone expresses because they want their way over God’s. I can empathize, I thought that way once too. My Lord God has said in His words to us, what a sin is and how we are to respond to sin in ourselves and others. Give correction, in love, after the beam in our own eye is removed.

Did we (you and I) choose God or something else? That choice says a lot about what rules (whose rules) we want to live by. Do we follow Christ? Do we really follow in the way that He showed us? Do we do all the things He said to do? Do we pick and choose what we will accept and ignore the rest because we don’t want to or because it’s not popular/politically correct?

I can be tolerant of someone who is seeking God’s will from scripture. Of someone who is ignorant of God’s will. But how can I be accepting of someone who rejects God and rails against my Father? I still love the person, the soul. But such individuals demand that I approve and accept them and their sin, I cannot give it because God does not. This does not mean that I seek to attack them, to find them and argue with them, neither does it mean that I will avoid confrontation or decline response. I will behave like a son of God, in so far as I am able.

I humbly submit this as a testimony of my walk with the Lord. Always a work in progress.

Scriptures:

  • Romans 3:23  For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.
  • Proverbs 28:13 People who conceal their sins will not prosper, but if they confess and turn from them, they will receive mercy.
  • Luke 17:3-4 So watch yourselves! If another believer sins, rebuke that person; then if there is repentance, forgive. Even if that person wrongs you seven times a day and each time turns again and asks forgiveness, you must forgive.
  • 1 Corinthians 6:9-11  Or do you not know that wrongdoers will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor men who have sex with men nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.
  • Galatians 5:19-21  When you follow the desires of your sinful nature, the results are very clear: sexual immorality, impurity, lustful pleasures,  idolatry, sorcery, hostility, quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambition, dissension, division,  envy, drunkenness, wild parties, and other sins like these. Let me tell you again, as I have before, that anyone living that sort of life will not inherit the Kingdom of God.
About Kerry Townsend

I do the best I can humanly do to follow Jesus Christ. I am not perfect. But the perfection described by God, is what I seek. I build websites to help others and earn my food & lodging.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

